What You Need to Buy Cannabis in Colorado. Age, Valid IDs, Limits and More
A quick guide to various restrictions around cannabis shopping.
If you are new to the world of cannabis shopping here is a basic breakdown of age and other restrictions for Colorado recreational and medical dispensaries.
How old do you have to be to smoke weed in Colorado? Can you enter a dispensary at 18 in Colorado?
In the state of Colorado, to shop recreationally you must be 21 years of age or older. Our Littleton and Denver East dispensaries accept patients ages 18 and up with a valid Colorado Medical Marijuana Card. You need to have your ID with you as well.
What do I need to buy cannabis in Colorado?
A valid government-issued ID that proves you are 21 years of age or older that is not so severely damaged that the required information is obscured.
Dispensary ID laws - acceptable forms of ID for Colorado dispensaries. Do dispensaries take expired IDs?
The following forms of ID’s are accepted at Colorado dispensaries:
As long as the following are not expired, have a valid, matching photo, and incorporate proof of age, you can enter a dispensary using the following: a driver’s license, US state or territory-issued Identification Card or temporary Identification Card, Passport, Passport ID Card, Permanent Resident Card, Alien Registration Card, Consular Card, Enrollment Card for any federally-recognized Native American tribe, Border Crossing Card, US Military ID with name, photo, date of birth.
We can not accept any form of renewal receipt or renewal paperwork.
Colorado vertical IDs are not accepted but one from another state will be valid.
In addition to a MMJ card, you will need a Colorado driver’s license or ID. These are the only two acceptable identifications.
Do dispensaries take temporary IDs?
Yes, any U.S state of territory-issued driver’s license or temporary license is valid as long as it is not expired, has a photo, and is legible.
Can tourists / out of state visitors / foreigners buy marijuana in Colorado?
You can shop on the recreational side if you are 21 years of age and have a valid ID. This also applies to non-U.S. residents with a valid passport.
Can I buy cannabis in Colorado if I have a medical marijuana card from another state?
You can on the recreational side but not on medical. Colorado does not recognize medical marijuana cards from other states.
You Might Also Like: Things You Should NOT Do When Shopping at Cannabis Dispensary
Do you deliver cannabis?
No, we do not currently offer delivery.
Can you ship cannabis?
No, shipping as well as transporting cannabis across state lines is illegal.
We hope this guide was helpful. Stay tuned for more by subscribing to our newsletter.
Today we continue exploring cannabinoids focusing on CBG
Silver Stem was one of the first to receive a recreational cannabis license in Littleton.
President Joe Biden is taking the first major steps toward decriminalizing marijuana.
Psychoactive products claiming to be hemp derived have flooded the markets, especially in the states where cannabis and cannabis infused products are still illegal.
Every year, Colorado Springs loses out on millions in tax dollars to Denver, Pueblo, and Manitou. It’s time to stand up to keep our tax dollars local.
Olympic City USA - a name given to it due to the fact that it hosts the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee and Training Center
Join Silver Stem Fine Cannabis for a celebration of Phish 2022 for the Labor Day weekend.
Introducing one of the most trending cannabis products of the year - rosin gummies.
The phenomenon baffled the town of Mildura in late July.
Get yourself a great discount just for signing up!
Get a discount on your purchase to enjoy the festival!
Enjoy a special price on Half Ounces of the following strains
Now available at select Silver Stem locations